Ridley Scott’s directing what?!? Also: Things to come, Michael Crichton, and TSO

 ridley_scott1      

 monopolyman_l1  

Sir Ridley Scott will be directing a film based on the endearingly popular board game Monopoly, says The Hollywood Reporter.

Apparently Scott wants to give the film a “futuristic sheen along the lines of his iconic ‘Blade Runner.'”

Ridley Scott turns 71 at the end of this month.  He shows no sign of flagging in developing new projects; if anything he seems to be speeding up: he’s released a film every year since 2005.  I’d estimate that we have a safe 10 years left from him before we can worry about him departing…and he’s spending his time on this?  I’m both intrigued and disappointed; at this point he can pull off just about any film.  Monopoly just doesn’t strike me as compelling source material (beyond doing a financial morality tale ala Wall Street), and at this point, I want every Ridley film to be a classic.  We’re not going to have him around forever.

On that note, I’ve been planning for some time to do a series on Sir Ridley’s films, which includes more than a few classics.  It’s taken a few years, but I’ve seen nearly his entire body of feature film work, and I’m working on viewing the rest so that I can do a comprehensive, film-by-film look at his work.  This will be a long-term series, updated when I get the chance.

Also coming up here at Filmatical: I’ll post some thoughts on Watchmen (the book, not the movie), and capsule reviews of the other films I caught at VIFF.

mcrichton2

In addition, I want to acknowledge the passing of Michael Crichton last week due to cancer.  He was 66 years old.  Michael Crichton, along with Tom Clancy, was my gateway into reading grown-up fiction.  I started with The Lost World and moved on to Jurassic Park, which I count as one of the most pleasurable reading experiences I have ever had.  That novel, along with his masterpiece, Timeline, were my close companions during many a noisy bus ride back in sixth grade.  His ability to create sheer thrills and unbridled suspense was masterful, and the way he wove it all with quasi-legit science made it all feel somewhat plausible.  I haven’t read all of his work; around Grade 8 I moved on to different authors, but I’ll never forget those hours spent in the worlds of Sphere, Congo, Jurassic Park, Timeline, and Prey.  He will be sorely missed.

One last word: Last week, some friends and I caught a performance by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra here in Vancouver.  I had no idea what I was in for.  Nearly three hours after settling into our seats, we stumbled out of GM Place with silly grins, overwhelmed and delighted by a night of powerful storytelling, beautiful music, and jaw-dropping stage effects.  If you get a chance to see the TSO, then run to the nearest venue; do not pass Go, do not collect 200 dollars; just go.  You won’t be disappointed.

These photos I took are enough to give an inkling of what it looks like:

tso-2

 

tso-3

tso-4

Good times, indeed.  Stay tuned…

2 Responses to “Ridley Scott’s directing what?!? Also: Things to come, Michael Crichton, and TSO”

  1. aaaahahah you went to the Transiberian Orchestra without knowing what was coming? I can only imagine how overwhelming that concert was.

    Also. Rainbow Six was awesome.

  2. Rainbow was indeed awesome. I think my favourite Clancy books are the ones that featured John Kelly/Mr. Clark as the main character, like Without Remorse or Rainbow. It’s a toss-up between them and Patriot Games and Red Storm Rising.

Leave a Reply

